The Pleasantest Things In The World #WinterABC #Day9

Dear Diary,

This month has been sad. I’ve been so paranoid lately that I cringe when I hear my phone ring. I’m afraid that I will be told about the death of yet another person and I have never been more aware of the volatility of life than at this moment.

Social media has been such a blessing. It’s so easy to lose myself for a few minutes, forget the sad things and just enjoy the moment when I watch funny videos by Taaoma & Maraji on Instagram.

Taaoma reminds me of my childhood when life was easy and my biggest worry was for my mum to come home and complain that I was yet to carry out an instruction she had given before she went out. Or for my dad to come back from work and meet me playing outside with other kids.

You see, my dad has always had fine notions of raising well bred kids with perfect skin and so, we were not allowed to play with sand, or with “rough kids” in the neighbourhood. (Not like we had many🤷🏾‍♀️)

Whenever we wanted to play, we were taken to the Estate field by an Uncle who acted as a Chaperone. No Chaperone, No play. As the only girl in the house, going to the field with my brothers meant, going to play football.

Even with all of Dad’s careful plans to avoid us getting injured, we still had a lot of scrapes, tears and tears. The latter as in hot tears😭😭😭

Unlike Tao, I did not receive very many slaps from my mother. The fear of those slaps were enough to keep me in line.

One of those days, I went out to play without a chaperone. I really cannot remember what game it was but I know it involved a lot of sand and sweat. I sighted my dad from afar off and ran inside the house. I wasn’t sure what to do. I knew I couldn’t bathe and change my outfit before he got in so I did the next best thing. I hid in my wardrobe.🙈.

Dad came in and called me out. Of course I had to come out of my hiding place in fear and trembling. Dad simply asked me how I was doing and why I was in the wardrobe. He didn’t shout or scold me. He just smiled and walked away. This remains one of my fondest memories.☺️

Maraji of course reminds me of silly experiences from boarding school and university. A whirlwind of memories about terrible teachers, oversabi friends, hostel gists and dancing competitions. 😂🤣🤣

Like most girls, I am an absolute romantic. I love to dream about motherhood and caring for my cuties. So far, WivesandMothers remains one of my favourite pages. Some days, I watch scary live birth videos and decide I’m not doing again and then I see cute mummy and me pictures and I’m like yass!💪🏾.

I also like that you can find really practical relationship tips on her page without the usual bashing and insults you find on pages like Joro. Her followers are more mature men and women (Yes men😁) who give very useful and thoughtful advice in the comments.

My days are never complete without me gushing over the cute babies on incrediblecuties. Even though the posts are not as frequent as they should be cos the admin (Me🤦🏾‍♀️) is lazy, I cannot stop gushing(I gush a lot😂🤣) over the incredible incredibly cute cuties🤩🤩🤩.

Dear diary, this has been a most pleasant discussion. My mood is lifted and I feel much better than I’ve felt in weeks. It’s true what they say about pleasant thoughts, they are the pleasantest things in the world and the great art of life is to have as many of them as possible.🥰♥️

Love,

Jõví

16 thoughts on “The Pleasantest Things In The World #WinterABC #Day9

  1. My sister! Different frightening news these days that can make one overly paranoid but in all we shall overcome. May God have mercy because nothing happens without His knowledge.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. June almost made me a roller-coaster of emotions. I have cried and flared at the slightest provocation, leaving me with terrible mood swings, fear and sometimes sleepless nights. The numerous deaths and sad news almost became overwhelming for me. Thank God for the grace and ability to draw strength and stand strong.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment